Reigning champion leads the way

World Champion Marc Marquez topped the timesheets as the Sepang Official MotoGP™ Test began yesterday. Marquez led the way from Yamaha Factory Racing’s Valentino Rossi and Honda team-mate Dani Pedrosa, with leading Open rider Aleix Espargaro seventh for NGM Mobile Forward Racing.  Following the lunch break, the final of the eight hours saw track temperatures drop which allowed riders to push for quicker lap times. This duly saw Marquez post 2’00.286, half a second up on Rossi as both the Italian and Marquez’s team-mate Dani Pedrosa jumped ahead of Jorge Lorenzo’s Yamaha in the final minutes. The top six was completed by Alvaro Bautista and Stefan Bradl.


At Repsol Honda, this year’s RC213V features a larger air intake in an attempt to increase top speeds and improve throttle response on the exit of corners, whilst in the Yamaha garage, Rossi continued to develop his working relationship with new Crew Chief Silvano Galbusera, who first worked alongside the nine-time World Champion for the post-race test after the final Grand Prix of 2013.  Much attention was on Ducati Team, with talk continuing to circulate that the outfit could elect to race under the new Open regulations this year; this would allow up to 24 litres of fuel as opposed to the 20 of the Factory Options, as well as working on engines during the season and not being limited by the new engine freeze. Also this season, all bikes in the field are running the spec ECU hardware for the first time; however Factory Options are free to use their own software, whereas Opens must adapt the spec software as supplied by Dorna Sports and Magneti Marelli.


The leading Open representative on this occasion was Aleix Espargaro (seventh position), with Factory Option riders Andrea Iannone, Pol Espargaro and Bradley Smith helping to complete the top ten. Colin Edwards overcame early technical difficulties to finish 11th quickest, as Ducati Team filled spots 12 to 14 with Andrea Dovizioso, test rider Michele Pirro and Cal Crutchlow. The leading Honda RCV1000R customer bike was that of 2006 title winner Nicky Hayden in 17th place.  At Paul Bird Motorsport, Michael Laverty suffered a frustrating start to proceedings, plagued first by brake problems and then by an engine failure. All teams were present with the exception of IodaRacing, which plans to make its 2014 track debut at the second Sepang test.

_MG_6601 _MG_6604 _MG_6616 _MG_6622 _MG_6632 _MG_6660 _MG_6672 _MG_6702 _MG_6717 _MG_6726 _MG_6733 _MG_6739 _MG_6754 _MG_6772 _MG_6780 _MG_6810 _MG_6830 _MG_6840 _MG_6849 _MG_6865 _MG_6886 _MG_6908 _MG_6926 _MG_7003 _MG_7015 _MG_7037 _MG_7082 _MG_7167 _MG_7176 _MG_7184 _MG_7188 _MG_7196 _MG_7200 _MG_7216 _MG_7241 _MG_7246 _MG_7260 _MG_7276 _MG_7282 _MG_7317 _MG_7368 _MG_7392 _MG_7426 _MG_7451 _MG_7460 _MG_7469 _MG_7503 _MG_7537 _MG_7555 _MG_7602 _MG_7620 _MG_7631 _MG_7642






Fastest lap

1 MARQUEZ, Marc Repsol Honda Team 2:00.286
2 ROSSI, Valentino Yamaha Factory Racing 2:00.804
3 PEDROSA, Dani Repsol Honda Team 2:00.906
4 LORENZO, Jorge Yamaha Factory Racing 2:01.082
5 BAUTISTA, Alvaro GO&FUN Honda Gresini 2:01.240
6 BRADL, Stefan LCR Honda MotoGP 2:01.320
7 ESPARGARO, Aleix NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2:01.419
8 IANNONE, Andrea Pramac Racing 2:01.538
9 ESPARGARO, Pol Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.634
10 SMITH, Bradley Monster Yamaha Tech 3 2:01.876
11 EDWARDS, Colin NGM Mobile Forward Racing 2:02.483
12 DOVIZIOSO, Andrea Ducati Team 2:02.497
13 PIRRO, Michele Ducati Test Team 2:02.552
14 CRUTCHLOW, Cal Ducati Team 2:02.860
15 HERNANDEZ, Yonny Energy T.I. Pramac Racing 2:02.891
16 NAKASUGA, Katsuyuki Yamaha Factory Test Team 2:03.126
17 HAYDEN, Nicky Drive M7 Aspar 2:03.319
18 AOYAMA, Hiroshi Drive M7 Aspar 2:03.328
19 DE PUNIET, Randy Suzuki Test Team 2:03.893
20 AKIYOSHI, Kosuke HRC Test Team 2:04.267
21 REDDING, Scott GO&FUN Honda Gresini 2:04.431
22 BARBERA, Hector Avintia Racing 2:04.922
23 DI MEGLIO, Mike Avintia Racing 2:05.825
24 PARKES, Broc Paul Bird Motorport 2:05.889
25 LAVERTY, Michael Paul Bird Motorsport 2:06.070
26 ABRAHAM, Karel Cardion AB Motoracing 2:06.755

Comments are closed.